A3 Wasteland V1.2?

A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« posted: Jun 23, 2015, 07:05 AM »
I am curious about the expected changes in V1.2. The ACE3 guys were very interested in the changes as it was hinted that the changes would make integrating ACE easier. They want to try and get a crack at it soon but I told them I did not know when it would come out or what those changes might entail.
  • Offline LouD
  • Silent but deadly ;)
  • Moderator
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1415

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #1 posted: Jun 23, 2015, 09:47 AM »
Patience is a virtue!
  • Offline AgentRev
  • Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 2495

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #2 posted: Jun 24, 2015, 07:49 PM »
v1.2 is technically ready, but I'm still trying to complete one more feature: offloading object saving to a headless client. I'm not certain if I will manage to pull this one off, v1.2 will be released this weekend whether or not that feature works.

Anyway, v1.2 isn't related to ACE, the edits needed to make it work can be done on v1.1b as well but you simply need to know what to edit. I will push those edits to a fork of the mission so you can easily use them.
  • Offline CREAMPIE
  • Armaholic
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1077
  • ^_^;;

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #3 posted: Jun 24, 2015, 07:57 PM »
ah damn ! That means porting all the non-standard stuff on the weekend ! Fun times !


- from the grassy knoll -
  • Offline AgentRev
  • Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 2495

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #4 posted: Jun 24, 2015, 08:00 PM »
ah damn ! That means porting all the non-standard stuff on the weekend ! Fun times !

You know, Git has these nifty tools called "merge" and "cherrypick"...
  • Offline CREAMPIE
  • Armaholic
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1077
  • ^_^;;

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #5 posted: Jun 24, 2015, 08:24 PM »
You know, Git has these nifty tools called "merge" and "cherrypick"...

What sorcery is this .... I've never managed to get that to work for me :(

- from the grassy knoll -
  • Offline AgentRev
  • Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 2495

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #6 posted: Jun 24, 2015, 08:37 PM »
What Git software do you use?

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #7 posted: Jun 24, 2015, 09:08 PM »
v1.2 is technically ready, but I'm still trying to complete one more feature: offloading object saving to a headless client. I'm not certain if I will manage to pull this one off, v1.2 will be released this weekend whether or not that feature works.

Anyway, v1.2 isn't related to ACE, the edits needed to make it work can be done on v1.1b as well but you simply need to know what to edit. I will push those edits to a fork of the mission so you can easily use them.

awesome thanks. I was actually waiting for its release so that I could make the necessary changes and be up to date instead of trying to play catch up.
Plus, you mentioned the ability to have continuous time between server restarts among other things.
  • Offline CREAMPIE
  • Armaholic
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1077
  • ^_^;;

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #8 posted: Jun 25, 2015, 07:59 AM »
What Git software do you use?

GitHub for Windows - Purple Cat Icon

- from the grassy knoll -
  • Offline AgentRev
  • Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 2495

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #9 posted: Jun 26, 2015, 05:48 AM »
GitHub for Windows - Purple Cat Icon

Yeah, that thing is awfully limited. Personally I prefer TortoiseGit, it has very comprehensive UIs for most Git features. Also msysgit's Git Bash for when I accidentally the repo.

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #10 posted: Jun 26, 2015, 02:07 PM »
Yeah, that thing is awfully limited. Personally I prefer TortoiseGit, it has very comprehensive UIs for most Git features. Also msysgit's Git Bash for when I accidentally the repo.

Github for windows is a PITA.  Tortoise is a good choice, though.  I'd also recommend Sourcetree as a good GUI to use.
  • Offline AgentRev
  • Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 2495

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #11 posted: Jun 28, 2015, 09:11 PM »
Code: [Select]
15:06:37 "WASTELAND HEADLESS - Object saving enabled"
15:06:38 "[extDB2] Startup..."
15:06:38 "[extDB2] Initialized SQL_CUSTOM_V2 protocol"
15:06:38 "[extDB2] Environment setup..."
15:06:38 "[extDB2] Startup complete!"
15:07:11 "A3W - 0 baseparts and objects have been saved with extDB"
15:07:41 "A3W - 1 vehicles have been saved with extDB"

Success!

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #12 posted: Jun 28, 2015, 10:52 PM »
Code: [Select]
15:06:37 "WASTELAND HEADLESS - Object saving enabled"
15:06:38 "[extDB2] Startup..."
15:06:38 "[extDB2] Initialized SQL_CUSTOM_V2 protocol"
15:06:38 "[extDB2] Environment setup..."
15:06:38 "[extDB2] Startup complete!"
15:07:11 "A3W - 0 baseparts and objects have been saved with extDB"
15:07:41 "A3W - 1 vehicles have been saved with extDB"

Success!

awesome! so now extDB2 works. I noticed on the Github page that it says A3 Wasteland Altis was updated but i dont see any modified files.
  • Offline AgentRev
  • Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 2495

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #13 posted: Jun 29, 2015, 01:39 AM »
awesome! so now extDB2 works. I noticed on the Github page that it says A3 Wasteland Altis was updated but i dont see any modified files.

My post wasn't about extDB2, and I haven't uploaded anything yet.

Re: A3 Wasteland V1.2?

« Reply #14 posted: Jun 29, 2015, 01:58 AM »
My post wasn't about extDB2, and I haven't uploaded anything yet.

SDL?