Trying to add wasteland to our server

Trying to add wasteland to our server

« posted: Oct 27, 2014, 07:52 PM »
Me and a friend just rented a ARMA 3 server from gamerservers.com and would like to add wastelands to it but as this is my first time actually setting up something like this im in need of some assistance to do so!  If anyone could shed some light on this matter it would be most appreciated!
  • Offline micovery
  • Hardened

Re: Trying to add wasteland to our server

« Reply #1 posted: Oct 27, 2014, 09:29 PM »
Did you rent a managed, or unmanaged server?

managed means that the hosting provider manages the server for you, and all you get is usually a control panel kind of access, and FTP.

unmanaged means that the hosting provider gives you full access to the operating system of the box (or VM)

I am guessing you do want to have objects, and vehicles persisted in your mission across restarts.

For managed servers, I think your only choice is to use profileNamespace for saving (need clarification on this ... anyone using iniDB on a managed server?)

For unmanaged servers, you got a few choices:

1. The official mission, using iniDB for persistence

Source code at: https://github.com/A3Wasteland/ArmA3_Wasteland.Altis
Released PBOs at: https://github.com/A3Wasteland/Release_Files

Old thread with some instructions: http://forums.a3wasteland.com/index.php?topic=117.0

2. The yet-to-be-official fork using extDB (and MySQL) for persistence

Source code at: https://github.com/Torndeco/ArmA3_Wasteland.Altis
Released PBOs: you have to build the PBO yourself from the source

No setup instructions that I know of?

3. Non-official fork that I maintain using Node.js (and your choice of database) for persistence

Source code, and Linux instructions at: https://github.com/micovery/ArmA3_Wasteland.Altis/tree/v1_beta