Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« posted: Nov 10, 2014, 05:30 PM »
I run a rather small Wasteland server for me and a handful of friends.  I was wondering if there is a way to add random enemy NPCs or patrols along highways and the capture points.  Something to kick it up a notch when there's only at most, 4 or 5 of us in the server.

Thanks :)
  • Offline [PGL]Psyc
  • Fresh Spawn
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I forget all Problems,when i am flying Taru-290 :D

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #1 posted: Nov 10, 2014, 06:15 PM »
yeah absolutely correct, we also searching for it for a long time but never find anything :(
There's only one real war which exists: WAR AGAINST HACKERS!!!
  • Offline LouD
  • Silent but deadly ;)
  • Moderator
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1415

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #2 posted: Nov 10, 2014, 07:45 PM »
Ofcourse this is possible, but you would have to make the mission yourself.
I used an old mission for this called hiddenmission. It spawns a random group of NPC's in a town. But only one town.
You could edit this to make it spawn on different markers inside the mission.sqm which you would have to add yourself.

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #3 posted: Nov 10, 2014, 09:33 PM »
That's not such a difficult task, btw. And mb we should create special topic about missions? There are a lot of "one-mission topics". We could create some kind of tutorial and place missions there. Let's wait what Agent will say about it.

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #4 posted: Nov 10, 2014, 10:44 PM »
You could take a look at EOS, I tested it some and it worked pretty good with A3W atleast at the earlier stages, also the "civilian"  variant (COS) added some risk to the towns(I gave em guns ;-) ).
Both are creations of "BangaBob" if I remember right.
  • Offline js2k6
  • Fresh Spawn
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #5 posted: Nov 18, 2014, 01:46 PM »
I have created a capture point called firebase alpha in the editor using zeus

exported it with mcc and merged with my mission.sqm
i have placed a trigger around the area. so if i enter the area. it spawns ai and crates

the sensor in my mission.sqm looks like this

Code: [Select]
class Item0
{
position[]={16594.824,35.029106,19012.52};
a=500;
b=500;
activationBy="ANY";
interruptable=1;
age="UNKNOWN";
expActiv="nul = execVM ""server\missions\staticSpawn.sqf"";";
class Effects
{
};
};

and the file staticSpawn.sqf is really simple

Code: [Select]
/*
staticSpawn.sqf
by JakeHekesFists[DMD]
for use with A3Wasteland Altis
this will create a mid sized Hostile AI patrol
*/
// this will create 2 static patrols at firebase alpha
_staticPos = [16530, 18975];
_staticPos1 = [16607, 19019];

// create 2 groups of AI
_StaticGrpM = createGroup civilian;
[_StaticGrpM,_staticPos] spawn createStaticGroup;
[_StaticGrpM,_staticPos1] spawn createStaticGroup;


//create 2 boxes of guns
_staticBox = createVehicle ["Box_East_Wps_F",[(_staticPos1 select 0), (_staticPos1 select 1),0],[], 0, "CAN_COLLIDE"];
[_staticBox,"mission_USLaunchers"] call fn_refillbox;
_staticBox allowDamage false;
_staticBox setVariable ["R3F_LOG_disabled", true, true];

_staticBox1 = createVehicle ["Box_East_Wps_F",[(_staticPos select 0) + 2, (_staticPos select 1) - 5,0],[], 0, "CAN_COLLIDE"];
[_staticBox1,"mission_Main_A3snipers"] call fn_refillbox;
_staticBox1 allowDamage false;
_staticBox1 setVariable ["R3F_LOG_disabled", true, true];

i use triggers for this, because i dont see any point in having lots of ai roaming around the area if there is noone there to do it.

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #6 posted: Nov 18, 2014, 04:42 PM »
I used ASSIP script to accomplish exactly what your trying to do. I put game logic using their militerize example they provide. I put them on military posts, all cities, and capture points so we have to fight our way through pretty much everything.

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #7 posted: Nov 20, 2014, 04:17 AM »
I used ASSIP script to accomplish exactly what your trying to do. I put game logic using their militerize example they provide. I put them on military posts, all cities, and capture points so we have to fight our way through pretty much everything.
howd u get the civs guns? working with this and it's just been a code road block for me
  • Offline JoSchaap
  • Developer
  • Mercenary
  • ******
  • Posts: 481
  • Had a life.. Got a modem.. (~1996)

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #8 posted: Nov 20, 2014, 12:05 PM »
hmm CoS looks interesting :)

I think i'll have a go at Armed Civvies too then :)


https://github.com/JoSchaap/GoT_A3Wasteland.Stratis/commit/a6e6a5b5e81500f635b143f7f7fd97afe50b5618

(I'm using stratis so kind of offtopic :P )
  • Offline LouD
  • Silent but deadly ;)
  • Moderator
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1415

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #9 posted: Nov 20, 2014, 12:18 PM »
hmm CoS looks interesting :)

I think i'll have a go at Armed Civvies too then :)


https://github.com/JoSchaap/GoT_A3Wasteland.Stratis/commit/a6e6a5b5e81500f635b143f7f7fd97afe50b5618

(I'm using stratis so kind of offtopic :P )
Looks cool JoSchaap! Might give it a try. What does it do performance wise?
  • Offline JoSchaap
  • Developer
  • Mercenary
  • ******
  • Posts: 481
  • Had a life.. Got a modem.. (~1996)

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #10 posted: Nov 20, 2014, 12:32 PM »
 :-[  cant test till i get home from work.. so no idea untill later tonight :P

incase your bored its on the server in my sig :)
  • Offline LouD
  • Silent but deadly ;)
  • Moderator
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1415

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #11 posted: Nov 20, 2014, 02:06 PM »
:-[  cant test till i get home from work.. so no idea untill later tonight :P

incase your bored its on the server in my sig :)
I've added it to my Altis test server. All I did was change the location of the mission.sqm part.
Can't find any NPC's in the towns :(
Did you use the random town spawn? Or do they spawn in all towns?

Getting the following error:

Code: [Select]
14:03:00 Error in expression <Count",0];
_rad=50;
_slack=2;

{

if (({_name==_x} count blackListTowns)>0 OR (_>
14:03:00   Error position: <_name==_x} count blackListTowns)>0 OR (_>
14:03:00   Error Undefined variable in expression: _name
14:03:00 File mpmissions\ArmA3_Wasteland_v1_NLU.Altis\addons\cos\cosInit.sqf, line 44
14:03:00 Error in expression <{_name==_x} count blackListTowns)>0 OR (_name == "")) then {}else
{



if (_size>
14:03:00   Error position: <_name == "")) then {}else
{



if (_size>
14:03:00   Error Undefined variable in expression: _name
14:03:00 File mpmissions\ArmA3_Wasteland_v1_NLU.Altis\addons\cos\cosInit.sqf, line 44

Gonna try the vanilla COS script now :)
  • Offline LouD
  • Silent but deadly ;)
  • Moderator
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1415

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #12 posted: Nov 20, 2014, 02:39 PM »
Vanilla script works... whoa that spawns a lot of AI haha...
Ok so not gonna use this. This spawns WAY to many AI haha.
And if they use guns this is gonna create a lot of lag!

110 NPC only when in Kavala. Imagine if there are players in all towns... omg..

-EDIT-
Oh and they are shit drivers lol
  • Offline JoSchaap
  • Developer
  • Mercenary
  • ******
  • Posts: 481
  • Had a life.. Got a modem.. (~1996)

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #13 posted: Nov 20, 2014, 03:44 PM »
LOL! that's why i edditted the script to spawn way less AI and NO vehicles :')

But editting without being able to test the results is a pain as you can see :)

just 3 more hours then i'm done with my normal work :)

*edit*

this could be the issue  ;D ::)

https://github.com/JoSchaap/GoT_A3Wasteland.Stratis/commit/b59ca7ed4cef7d15cab617f5dafdcfc3dc3461a7

updated the server in my sig with that fix :)

Re: Random NPC patrols and/or enemies at capture points

« Reply #14 posted: Nov 20, 2014, 06:51 PM »
LOL! that's why i edditted the script to spawn way less AI and NO vehicles :')

But editting without being able to test the results is a pain as you can see :)

just 3 more hours then i'm done with my normal work :)

*edit*

this could be the issue  ;D ::)

https://github.com/JoSchaap/GoT_A3Wasteland.Stratis/commit/b59ca7ed4cef7d15cab617f5dafdcfc3dc3461a7

updated the server in my sig with that fix :)
hey jo, love this script, what i wanted bad. question how do i add more towns seems to only populate on like 6 towns and its also marking the territories. made my own logic as i couldn't find yours on the mission.sqm